Our Tour Seasons

Life in the SubArctic undergoes great change throughout the year. Churchill has three distinct seasons that represent the optimal time to view the Aurora Borealis, Beluga Whales and Polar Bears. From February to April, cold conditions often bring clear skies with long nights providing some of the best opportunities to view the Northern Lights. As the SubArctic gradually begins to thaw during Spring, a wide range of migratory birds return to the area with Beluga Whales being not far behind. The first Polar Bears can usually be spotted in early July as they come off the ice and the Tundra is in bloom. This represents the pinnacle of life returning to the SubArctic. While we don’t yet offer specific Polar Bear and Birding tours during the Summer, it is important to note both can frequently be spotted on our Town & Area Tours and Low Tide Ithaka hikes. The odds of viewing Aurora again increase in August and September with days getting shorter. This time of year provides the best opportunity to view Bears, Belugas and Borealis together. As temperatures begin to cool again in the Fall, Beluga Whales migrate North from the Churchill River for the winter and Polar Bear become more active in anticipation of ice formation. Please refer to the chart below to view when our tours operate.

JAN
FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUNE
JULY
AUG
SEPT
OCT
NOV
DEC
Polar Bear Tours
Town & Area Tours
Northern Lights Tours
Ithaka Shipwreck Hikes

Our Tours

POLAR BEAR TOURS

Stand face to face with the world’s largest carnivore and listen to the ice crack beneath their paws as they walk past. Our experienced guides will carefully position you to the best vantage points and help you create unforgettable images and memories.

Dates: October 1 – November 18

POLAR BEAR DAY TOURS DATES & AVAILABILITY

OCTOBER 2022

Saturday, October 1, 2022
12 SPOTS LEFT
Sunday, October 2, 2022
10 SPOTS LEFT
Monday, October 3, 2022
10 SPOTS LEFT
Tuesday, October 4, 2022
12 SPOTS LEFT
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
12 SPOTS LEFT
Thursday, October 6, 2022
12 SPOTS LEFT
Friday, October 7, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Saturday, October 8, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Sunday, October 9, 2022
9 SPOTS LEFT
Monday, October 10, 2022
11 SPOTS LEFT
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
9 SPOTS LEFT
Wednesday, October 12, 2022
7 SPOTS LEFT
Thursday, October 13, 2022
10 SPOTS LEFT
Friday, October 14, 2022
10 SPOTS LEFT
Saturday, October 15, 2022
10 SPOTS LEFT
Sunday, October 16, 2022
7 SPOTS LEFT
Monday, October 17, 2022
7 SPOTS LEFT
Tuesday, October 18, 2022
SOLD OUT
Wednesday, October 19, 2022
SOLD OUT
Thursday, October 20, 2022
SOLD OUT
Friday, October 21, 2022
SOLD OUT
Saturday, October 22, 2022
12 SPOTS LEFT
Sunday, October 23, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Monday, October 24, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Tuesday, October 25, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Wednesday, October 26, 2022
4 SPOTS LEFT
Thursday, October 27, 2022
9 SPOTS LEFT
Friday, October 28, 2022
SOLD OUT
Saturday, October 29, 2022
SOLD OUT
Sunday, October 30, 2022
6 SPOTS LEFT
Monday, October 31, 2022
SOLD OUT
NOVEMBER 2022

Tuesday, November 1, 2022
SOLD OUT
Wednesday, November 2, 2022
SOLD OUT
Thursday, November 3, 2022
9 SPOTS LEFT
Friday, November 4, 2022
7 SPOTS LEFT
Saturday, November 5, 2022
SOLD OUT
Sunday, November 6, 2022
SOLD OUT
Monday, November 7, 2022
9 SPOTS
Tuesday, November 8, 2022
SOLD OUT
Wednesday, November 9, 2022
SOLD OUT
Thursday, November 10, 2022
SOLD OUT
Friday, November 11, 2022
SOLD OUT
Saturday, November 12, 2022
7 SPOTS LEFT
Sunday, November 13, 2022
SOLD OUT
Monday, November 14, 2022
SOLD OUT
Tuesday, November 15, 2022
SOLD OUT
Wednesday, November 16, 2022
SOLD OUT
Thursday, November 17, 2022
6 SPOTS LEFT
Friday, November 18, 2022
6 SPOTS LEFT
NORTHERN LIGHTS TOURS

Become mesmerized by the colours of the Aurora Borealis as they dance above your head at some of Churchill’s most iconic and photogenic landmarks. Learn about the folklore surrounding the Aurora and pick up some useful tips on how to photograph one of nature’s best shows.

Date:  Feb 1 – March 31, Aug 1 – Sept 21

TOWN AND AREA TOURS

Introduce yourself to Churchill’s rich history and culture by visiting the Cape Merry National Historic Site overlooking the Prince of Wales Fort. Explore Miss Piggy’s plane wreck, the Polar Bear Holding Facility and the Churchill Northern Rocket Range all while keeping a watchful eye out for Churchill’s famous wildlife.

Dates: June 1 – September 21

CHANGING COLOURS OF THE TUNDRA TOURS

As the colours of the tundra begin to change late in the summer we are presented with the best opportunity to experience the three things Churchill is best known for, bears, belugas and borealis.

Dates: August 22-27, August 31-September 5
ITHAKA SHIPWRECK HIKES

Hike out in the middle of Polar Bear Country to the shipwreck of the MV Ithaka and imagine what it was like getting caught in a September gale and running aground the rocky coastline of the Hudson Bay.

Dates: June 1 – September 21